June 16, 2024
  • Home
  • Community News
  • YMM Parent magazine announces 2021’s recipients of the Top 20 Under 20 program

YMM Parent magazine announces 2021’s recipients of the Top 20 Under 20 program

By on September 23, 2021 0 560 Views


YMM Parent magazine announces 2021’s recipients of the Top 20 Under 20 program

Fort McMurray, AB – September 21, 2021 – This year’s Top 20 Under 20 recipients have been announced by YMM Parent magazine.

“In what has been another challenging year for everyone, we are so delighted to celebrate this amazing group of young people,” says Kerri Johnson, Associate Publisher of YMM Parent and Your McMurray Magazine. “Despite the global pandemic, these youth have risen up and set themselves apart as truly remarkable, and it is our honour and privilege to shine the spotlight on them.”

The Top 20 Under 20 are being recognized for things such as their contributions to the community, academic achievement, and other outstanding accomplishments.

Each year, YMM Parent names the Top 20 Under 20 in partnership with the General Assembly of the Mayor’s Advisory Council on Youth (MACOY).

“The MACOY program is proud to be a part of the Top 20 Under 20 program,” said Nicole Martyn-Dickinson, Social Program Advisor with the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, and current MACOY lead. “With YMM Parent’s partnership with our program, not only are our community’s youngest changemakers highlighted, but the youth in the MACOY program are able to get first hand experience in the field of journalism by getting to interview and write articles on all of the recipients.”

The MACOY Members of the General Assembly include: Avi Pandya, Dew Bhaumik, Fareedah Sadek, Favour Oguntuase, Heet Shah, Krish Shah, Krista Gomez, Kyle Gomez, Lokesh Patel, Manorama Joshi, Mordeke Ologunde, Muneeb Ikram, Neel Patel, Nirmit Parikh, Parth Desai, Precious Majekodunmi, Saakshi Arvikar, Shreeya Patel, Tanisha Kadia, Tithi Soni, Muhammad Ali Qureshi, Umar and Farooq Shad.

Presented by the Fort McMurray International Airport for the third year in a row, the Top 20 Under 20 were selected by MACOY’s General Assembly based on nominations from community ambassadors.

“The Fort McMurray International Airport (YMM) is pleased to return as YMM Parent’s Top 20 Under 20 Presenting Partner, once again this year. Supporting our community is fundamental to who we are and how we operate,” said RJ Steenstra, President & CEO of the Fort McMurray Airport Authority. “From all of us at YMM, we wish the recipients continued success and look forward to seeing the great things they’ll do!”


YMM Parent’s Top 20 Under 20 of 2021 recipients are:

Vasundhara Joshi, 11
Tryton Harper, 17
Shawn Jiang, 15
Shaaf Babar, 16
Naomi Solbak, 17
Mira Patel, 18
Maryam Tsegaye, 17
Irene Olayinka, 16
Holden Lidstone, 10
Hasya Patel, 8 and Aarya Patel, 11
Hamna Daud, 16
Diyaa Alkanakre, 18
Devshri Lala, 19
Devki Patel, 19
Chintan Desai, 17
Brehanna Gour, 19
Brecon Gregoire-Jenkins, 17
Auveen Amir, 17
Aiden Wright, 16
Aanal Trivedi, 17

YMM Parent is an annual Fort McMurray family-based magazine published by Balsom Communications. To learn more, visit www.ymmparent.ca. To nominate an individual for YMM Parent’s 2022 Top 20 Under 20 program, please email kerri@balsom.ca.

Pictured: 2021’s Top 20 Under 20.